We are three weeks away from our U2 adventure! It’s going to take me that long to get prepared. The place we’re staying is booked, the tickets are purchased, and all three of us are counting down the days.

I’m not one of those high-maintenance people who must have bags of clothes and shoes for a weekend adventure. I just have to pack my bag o’ goodies, aka my meds that keep me going. Let’s face it – I’m not all there hahahahahahaha. My head isn’t always one to cooperate so any time I go somewhere I have to prepare for all the what ifs. Let’s also not forget it is now 8 weeks post brain surgery.

My 20 something self is screaming at me for choosing actual seats. Of course I want to be right there in the midst of it all squeezed up against the stage (like last time).

U2 360, Carter Finley Raleigh, NC

MB refused to go along as my caregiver unless I committed to actual seats (this is why I call her Dr. Bossy). I know it’s the right thing, but I still have to grapple with my much younger voice! I’m totally ignoring the fact we also have handicapped seating. Let’s just laugh at that for a moment! I don’t mean laugh about my handicap – laugh about the stark difference of my inner voice and reality.

I’m going to be stupid. I’m just putting it out there now. My plan is to enjoy myself and the moments the three of us have together – I’m talking to the fullest extent! If I have to stay supine for a couple of days after that is fine by me! Dr. Bossy can do her best work.

It’s been a long time since I’ve been able to spend more than a few hours with Ben. I feel like shoving everything we can into that short time – along with MB and four of our closest friends.

